Cedar Park



Cedar Park is on Cluck Creek and U.S. Highway 183 some sixteen miles northwest of Austin in southwestern Williamson County. In earlier days the community and the creek were named Running Brushy, after a heavy-flowing spring that formed the headwaters of the creek. In 1871 George Cluck made a cattle drive up the Chisholm Trail accompanied by his wife Harriet, who was the first woman to make the drive; in 1873 the Clucks bought the land which included Running Brushy Spring. The Cluck ranch and home became the nucleus for a community. A post office was authorized in February 1874 for the Running Brushy settlement. Joel Sutton served as postmaster until December 1874, when Harriet Cluck took the job, which she held for eight years. In 1882 the Austin and Northwestern Railroad was completed from Austin to Burnet, crossing the Cluck land in Running Brushy.



  <<  1 2  >> 


Frisco, Texas

Texas' Rising Star

Explore

Top Camping Spots

Find the most popular Texas camping destinations across the state.

Explore

Great Texas Food

Great food can be found all across the Lone Star state.

Explore